‘B’ Is For Books!!

                                           woman-reading-1953

Yes, I am still alive. Some out of town time and being sick has me about a week behind in the world…

 

Three weeks til conference!

Wrote preface for a new book… Safe In The Middle.

 

B is for books…. A-Z blog…

Books. Supposed to be what our lives revolve around right? So I’m knee deep in these conference assignments and I’m realizing that I have to face a dreadful fact that I have always known. I am NOT well-read. I write, but I don’t READ!!  Enough, anyway.

Now that I am learning about genre and comparables, I am needing to just know a lot of books off the top of my head and I don’t! I have always felt bad in conversations where authors are throwing a lot of other writers’ names around and I have not heard of everyone and read everything. Of course there is so much out there…. you can’t read it all, but it always seems like everyone is reading more than me. Of course, to be a good writer, you have to read.

I love to read. That’s not the problem at all. It’s usually time that I cite as my excuse. But now that I’m in the crunch, I know that’s not it either, because I’m reading about a book every other day to try and catch up!! 

So… take advantage of my reading with these three reviews….

What Crazy Looks Like On Any Given Day, by Pearl Cleage

Every Last One, by Anna Quindlen

Summer Sisters, by Judy Blume

2011603294 friendship-books-summer-sisters obc-pearl-cleage-284xFall

All great and I really think any woman would like them…. although they are all different.

Summer Sisters could be appreciated by any woman of any age, and probably Every Last One as well.

If you don’t like surprises, Anna Quindlen may disappoint you, but I think predictable reading is awful.

Pearl Cleage is African American, as are her characters and she touches on a lot of things involving some controversial issues, times and people in this book. Not really a warning, because it wasn’t a rant at all. It still had warmth and love and all the things women look for in a fiction curl up.

 

Unfortunately….only one of these can be considered in my opinion, as a comparable, so the search continues…

I must continue this pattern of reading, even after conference.

ch

TourLogoBorder 

Leave a Reply

