YOU Can Start A Blog…. Today!

How-to-Become-a-Freelance-Writer

It was pointed out to me while promoting my blog and blogging in general, that many people might not have the foggiest notion on how to blog, what a blog really is and what they could possibly gain from having one of their very own.

I am here to answer all of those questions. Of course most is my opinion, aside from the factual steps to blogging that I will share, but I am happy to lend my experience.

So blogging is as easy as typing, period. There are tons of blogging sites out there and which one you choose is all about your own experience, feelings, level of computer skills, etc. I use http://www.wordpress.com, as you can see from the address bar above. If you visit wordpress.com you will see it’s as easy as entering an email address. Are you kind of wary of the internet, giving out your info, etc? I will tell you what I have told my close friend who is eighty-one and refuses to get a Facebook so she can see what I am doing from day to day. Lie.

Lie? Yes. Lie your pants off.

Set up a yahoo, or gmail or whatever email you desire, IF you don’t want to use one you already have. It can be blogemail123@whatever.com…. when it asks for your name, enter Minnie Mouse if you want to. This is only if you have those concerns. You may find, however, that you want to connect with your followers. You may WANT them to know who you are and be on your Facebook, etc. To each his own.

So, setting up your wordpress account is easy and I would hope there are other sites just as simple. I am not trying to push wordpress on anyone.

Once you set up your account it will walk you through setting up your blog. Don’t get overwhelmed and just answer the questions, choose a theme, etc. There are lots of OTHER things around the pages that could distract and overwhelm you. Ignore them. If you choose to tiptoe into that stuff later, great. But it is not necessary for setting up your blog and getting started…today! 🙂

Like Facebook and other fun pages, your blog will let you choose a theme, layout, pictures, etc.

start-a-freelance-career

 

You’ll notice I have inserted pictures into my blog here. I strongly recommend putting pictures in EVERY blog you do. It just attracts more viewers and makes any blog look better. You can take the pictures, get them from Google, whatever. So…when you get the urge, you blog.

You select new post.

You type a title.

You type in the empty rectangle just like you were typing a letter on Word.

You insert pictures wherever you like.

Your blog can be long or short, serious or silly, it can literally be anything you want!

Maybe your blog is focused, with a theme. Like my other blog Dear Marley That is literally ONLY messages written to my granddaughter Marley. That’s it. Sometimes once a week, sometimes more, sometimes less. Maybe thousands of people will read it. Maybe someday only she will. No matter.  You can also have a more vague blog…. The Ramblings Of A Thirty-Something Tennis Coach…. and whenever you feel like it you complain about crows feet, bad serves and mediocre coaching salary. It is completely up to you!

Why blog?

Everyone has their reasons. Whether it be professional, personal, sentimental or satire… you have something to say and telling your spouse or your cat or your hairdresser is just not enough.

THIS blog is usually about writing, trials and triumphs, news about my upcoming tour, new books, old books, frustration, etc. But I am a writer, so sometimes it’s just a sounding board for something that I felt like chatting about that day. My OTHER blog is totally personal, from the heart, true life experience. You can blog long-term or short-term…. for the entire lifetime of a child or just to document your son’s first football season. Again, your call.

freelancing What if no one reads it?

That’s up to you. If it is professional, maybe you WANT readers, NEED readers, etc. Then it’s up to you to promote, share your finished blogs on your Facebook and the Facebook of everyone you know. Have your blog address at the end of every email, have it on your business cards and your checks. How far you go to get it out there is totally up to you.

But again, maybe your blog is personal and once you write something, you have achieved what you set out to do. Maybe you only care if a handful of people read it.

I hope this has been helpful. Feel free to ask questions here. Find me on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/CherilynWrites

Blog on!

🙂

ch

Leave a Reply

