How did I get here…from point A…to an eight city book tour!

Although no one really believes it, I’m a type A personality: organized, focused….okay, who am I kidding? That’s so not true. I’m more known for my fly-by-the-seat-of my-pants spontaneity than anything else. At times, I’m sure I seem flighty, flaky even. But I long for that organized spirit and drive, the one I see so poignantly displayed in my Pen and Cup partner in crime Cherilyn Fienen.

So, how did this all happen? This idea that we–two women with a love for words and thirst for adventure–could define our own destiny by orchestrating a major EIGHT (8!!!) city book tour of both coasts and major cities in between? You know, it baffles even me. One minute we’re laughing ourselves silly in the parking lot of Barnes & Noble, the next we’re conspiring to take the world (or at the least the U.S.) by storm. Life is funny like that. You can be just cruising along on random Thursday when the idea of a lifetime slaps you up side the head. That’s just how it happened.

Honestly, from the first minute I met Cherilyn, we connected. We are, in so many ways, soul sisters. We are both creatives down to our core; writers, artists, photographers. Yet, we each possess an identity that can’t be duplicated, or pinned down. We are wild at heart and gentle in spirit. We love people and the grand idea that we can change the world with our words and our stories. We feel the need to take the reins in our own hands and drive our dreams to the highest star. It’s who we are and how we approach life. And we want to take you along for the ride!

So, since Cherilyn already introduced herself, let me tell you who I am. I am a wife to the most handsome man in the world and mother to five amazing kids; the soldier, the scholar, the actress, the athlete, and the dreamer. I am a creative soul. I have found myself as a writer, photographer, artist, and traveler, but I am only wholly complete in my identity as a child of the One True King. In everything I do, I strive to please Him and tell His story to the world.

I love dogs, lip-gloss, and good coffee. If my heart were a chalkboard, it would read “Welcome!” Please come in and see my inner world, take a peek at my thoughts and share in my dreams and struggles. I want to know and be known by my Creator and the world. I want to share with you all that I go through as I work towards a final published edit of the novel I have spent the last four and half years writing, as well as the non-fiction book I am beginning just now for release on this tour. Come with me–come with us–as we push past fear and failure into a new dream of creating and sharing our hearts, and our words, with the world. No holds barred!!!

See you on the tour! #pen&cup2015

Leave a Reply

